Tags

, ,

At first I thought I should write about such an event in a formal manner. But pack, there are other people who can do that. I will do this post in my own agile way.

Sometime last week, while chatting with Manu, he told me about RubyConf India and that he is attending the event happening on March 20 and 21. That started an interesting week and several “firsts” for me! Having been to Bangalore only twice before (and both times with loads of people accompanying), I have no freaking clue about the place. I have very few friends in the city and have never travelled alone before! Venkat solved my staying problem by letting me stay in his place. The best thing is that the venue is barely 10 mins away from his home by walk! Now, how lucky is that?! But, the sad thing is that he (and his room-mate) are to come to Chennai for the two days that I need to be there. So I have to stay alone. Hoo! That’s another first! Anyway, reached Bangalore safely and after a minor glitch [ok, got down at cantonment unknowingly :)] reached Venkat’s place only to find a sleepy security guard refusing to let me in. Venkat to the rescue again at 5 in the morning. I OWE the guy, I know!

Fast forward to the conference…

Talks were mostly good! Really enjoyed talks by Matz, Obie and a couple of others. Talked with a few people and listened to quite a lot.

Matz won over people with his awesome presentation in which he tried to foresee Ruby’s future. It was interesting to learn about Ruby’s history from the creator himself. He named it Ruby on Feb 24, 1993 even before starting work and his reason being that he wanted a jewel name and Ruby is small and beautiful and Pearl (Perl) was already taken! Terseness started with the name! There was an interesting revelation: it took him about six months to get “Hello World” running. He also told the conference that Ruby 1.9.2 is getting released this August.

Obie was fun, controversial, opinionated all at once! Loved him asking people to use torrents to download books (even his own) acknowledging the fact that books are costly in India! I should try reading at least a few of the books he mentioned. I was surprised when the organisers asked him to cut down his use of the f-word. Why the hell do we need to stereotype ourselves as culturally superior? To his credit, he apologised publicly. And later when I got a chance to speak with him, he mentioned that had the organisers told him earlier, he would have definitely not used the f-word.

Other talks that I enjoyed touched upon programming languages, Ruby objects, Rails 3 and GlassFish.

Overall, the conference was good and it was a nice weekend spent and yeah, the food was great 🙂

